Skip To Main Content
Students who participated in the regional science fair stand with the championship trophy.
  • Awards and Recognition

Northbrook Junior High’s Independent Science Research students brought home the Division C Champion trophy on March 4th at the Illinois Junior Academy of Science regional competition at Stevenson High School.

To qualify for regionals, the students received gold awards at the school-based competition. Each student made a presentation to a panel of three judges on a science research project they designed and completed in a semester-long independent science research class. The judges evaluate the oral presentation, the written work and the scientific method of the experiments based on the Illinois Jr. Academy of Science rubric.

Of the NBJH 34 students participating, 26 qualified for the state fair which will be held a Millikin University on May 4, earning them the regional trophy.

In addition to qualifying for state, the following students earned special recognition:

Best in Category: Mia Shah (Product/Consumer Science); Henry Gartz (Aerospace Science); Ruth Zhang (Behavioral Science); Eric McCaughan (Botany); and Evan Silver-Schack (Microbiology). Andrew Wetter and Simon Pick received the Stockholm Junior Water Prize and Henry Gartz also received the statistical excellence award from the American Statistical Association.

Placing in the top 10% of all Science Fair entries were:

Evan Silver-Schack, Chloe Kim, Sasha Ship, Simon Pick, Eric McCaughan, Lucas Wilson, Nora Van Bergen, Jocelyn Cameron, Alexa Sciortino, Grace Paulissian and Henry Gartz.

The science teaching team of Amber Paull, Lauren Johnson and Fredrick Yoon guided our Independent Science Research students to success!


Above, the students who participated in the Illinois Junior Academy of Science regional competition at Stevenson High School and qualified for the state fair are, 1st (Front) row: Henry Gartz, Andrew Wetter, Jzak McGough, Eric McCaughan

2nd row: Maeve Zale, Nora Van Bergen, Janessa Wu, Jocelyn Cameron, Bethany Huhr, Roslyn Stuart

3rd row: Ruth Zhang, Olivia Pekala, Sofia Pavlovsky, Maya Schmitz, Mia Hong, Maggie Griffith

4th (Back) row: Lucas Wilson, Grace Paulissian, Sydney Huhr, Katie Yoon, Mia Shah, Sasha Ship, Greta Wahlstrom, Chloe Kim, Luca Hwangbo